Colchester

The George Hotel
The George Hotel

Me and a friend decided last week to go on a visit to Britain’s most historical town, Colchester. We left just before 7 AM and after 3 buses and as many hours, we finally arrived at a our location with a fair amount of day still ahead of us to explore this ancient town.

Out of true heritage appreciation, we started our adventure in The George Hotel, at the bar, as the first beer orders of the day.

Aside from our early morning alcoholism, we did see some historical sites as the day progressed, the whole point of the venture was for me to do an area study for an art project I’m currently working on.

The main focus of my attention was on the castle and I was gutted to find it covered in scaffolding, but such is and I got on with my research.

Colchester Castle - South Entrance
Colchester Castle – South Entrance

I now have a stockpile of images and ideas that I’m working with in order to see this project through, so I will be uploading bits as I get them finished to a standard that I can happily post them.

 

Colchester is an absolutely beautiful town, to the eye at least, and is rich in history and is a place where you can immerse yourself in the scenery from the castle to the remnants of the ancient Roman walls.

Anyway, stay posted and keep an eye out for the sketches I’ll start uploading from next week some time.

JG

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

