Colchester Castle Artwork

As I mentioned in a previous short post about Colchester, I have been working on an area project as part of my college coursework. This post will show some of the sketches that I have created of the Castle itself, I’ve also uploaded the images to the Portfolio section of my site in full size.

North-West Wall of Colchester Castle, Blue Biro
North-West Wall of Colchester Castle, Blue Biro

This quick sketch of the North-West wall was done in blue Biro pen, I didn’t bother too much with perspective as I just wanted to get a loose sketch down onto the paper.

North-East Tower, Cupula, South-West Tower of Colchester Castle, Willow Charcoal
North-East Tower, Cupula, South-West Tower of Colchester Castle, Willow Charcoal

I particularly enjoyed creating these three sketches with charcoal, a medium that I don’t use often but I really enjoy using when I do. The sketches show the North-East tower, the Cupula and the South-West tower of the castle. Again I wasn’t overly attentive to perspective, I just made a couple of rough vanishing points and laid down my images. I really need to work with charcoals a lot more.

Colchester Castle, Pencil, Based on the work of another artist
Colchester Castle, Pencil, Based on the work of another artist

This drawing in pencil is most probably my favorite one so far in this project, I used a drawing by Robert Wisdom as reference for this piece, also this time I did pay attention to perspective, using two-point perspective to carry out the drawing.

Colchester Castle Main Entrance, Pencil
Colchester Castle Main Entrance, Pencil

Last but my no means the least, is the main entrance in the South wall, drawn in pencil from a photograph that I took on the day. I personally feel that of all my drawings so far, this one shows the character of the castle the best, capturing enough detail to show a nice texture of the stone fortress.

So that’s four of my sketches for this project, I still have some more bits and pieces to upload, and more work to do, hopefully I’ll get some monotype prints done as well. Also in my Portfolio, I have a few other things that I’ve done over the past year if you wish to have a look. In the meantime, thanks for checking this post out and feel free to leave any feedback and comments.

JG

Leave a Reply

