Caravaggio & Normanno – David and Goliath

I’ve recently been piled under course work for my Art course that I’m studying at the moment and therefore have had trouble finding the time to write a new post, however, a new assignment I have to work on for my Academic Skills is a compare and contrast of two pieces of art. I’m going to write an analysis on each piece before I attempt to compare and contrast them so those will be posted onto here, followed by the final written piece that I do.

The works I have chosen for this assignment are both depictions of David and Goliath, and painted in the same medium, but 407 years apart, so it should be an interesting subject to approach.

Rocco Normanno - David and Goliath - 2006 - Oil on Canvas (150 x 150cm)
Rocco Normanno – David and Goliath – 2006 – Oil on Canvas (150 x 150cm)
Caravaggio - David and Goliath - 1599 - Oil on Canvas (110 x 91cm)
Caravaggio – David and Goliath – 1599 – Oil on Canvas (110 x 91cm)

I’m a big fan of Caravaggio’s work and his life in general, Normanno is new to me though, I only discovered him by accident and since looking for artworks for this essay. I can already feel that this is going to be an interesting process and I’m looking forward to picking these artworks apart to find out which artist is David and which is Goliath.

JG

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

