Romans 12:12

Romans 12:12 - Watercolour, Charcoal, on A4 Watercolour Paper
Romans 12:12 – Watercolour, Charcoal, on A4 Watercolour Paper

Romans 12:12 – Rejoice in the hope. Endure under tribulation. Persevere in prayer.

This piece of work took me about 4.5 hours to complete, I started by giving the paper a wash with yellow ochre watercolour, to give a kind of aged look to the surface I was to draw on. I then sketched out my wife’s hands in a praying position, using charcoal. I had to work from a photograph after the initial sketch so I worked all the detail and tone from photo, and heavily defined every line I could see clearly on the hands.

The title of this piece, is a scripture that I found afterwards that I thought to be quite fitting in more ways than one and I hope that the image conveys the meaning clearly.

JG

Leave a Reply

