Calotype Photography – Paris & London

The course I’m currently on at college is called an “Access to Art & Design Foundation Diploma”, basically it does what it says on the tin and upon completion with a pass, I gain the opportunity to “access” university and study at degree level in any art-related area. This is an intense course, packed with various different modules of art types; figure studies, graphics, printmaking, 3D, colour theory, mixed media, textiles and photography; eventually ended with a final major project.

At the moment I’m working on a few modules at once, this post however is in relation to the photography module, and also a touch of graphics I guess but it won’t be submitted for graphics as I have already completed that module.

Calotype Photography

Henry Fox Talbot - Trafalgar Square
Henry Fox Talbot – Trafalgar Square

The calotype was first introduced in 1841 by William Henry Fox Talbot and was one of the earliest methods of photograph development; without going too into detail and unraveling the entire history of photography and the variety of methods discovered, I’m just going to move forward.

I have made 2 digital calotypes, using Photoshop CS6 and 2 of my own photographs.

Josh Glover - Parisian Atmosphere
Josh Glover – Parisian Atmosphere

This photograph was taken in Paris, from the entrance of the Musée du Louvre, this photo, in all of it’s beauty was one of those happy accidents, when you just point and click and don’t realise the atmosphere and beauty that has just been immortalised in that very moment; in fact I didn’t realise until well after I had got back to the UK and was looking through the photographs I had taken. The digital calotype process has in my opinion, given this image an even better ambience and the true vintage feel that Paris emits through every piece of cracked pavement.

Josh Glover - The National Gallery, Trafalgar Square
Josh Glover – The National Gallery, Trafalgar Square

I took this photo of the National Gallery earlier this year whilst visiting, again the calotype process has added extra eminence to this historical and magnificent building, the antique photographic quality is a compliment to the beautifully powerful architecture of this re envisioned Parthenon; standing dominantly in London’s Trafalgar Square, swallowing tourists by the thousands.

Well, that is all from me for now I hope that if you have seen them, you like them; I certainly don’t profess to be a photographer in any way, but I am enjoying the module and the learning curve of camera use, which is incredibly harder than the point and click method I previously employed.

Until next time, au revoir!

JG

Leave a Reply

