The Lord of the Rings Project – Update III

So, here we are at Update III and now fast approaching the end of the painting and the culmination of the project. If you have missed the previous parts of this project, they can all be found by Clicking Here.

sam carrying frodo - wip - oil painting - lord of the rings art

As is evident from the picture, I still have a fair amount of colour to add to the figures’ clothing and the flesh tones need to be painted again with more of an orange-red hue due to the light that’s hitting them. Once that’s done I’ll be working on the finer details and highlights and then calling it a day; well I say that now but I’ll probably keep finding more to add to it. It’s hard not to overwork a piece and it takes a real discipline to work it to a finished enough stage and leave it.

With that in mind, I doubt that I’ll post another update now until the piece is finished and I’m aiming to have it finished within two weeks, I’m still not overly good with timing myself with this yet, mainly due to being new to oil painting; and for my first artwork created in oils I’m very happy so far despite the odd mistakes and problems I’ve encountered a long the way.

Thank you for taking the time to have a look at my work; I’ll still be posting regularly on Wednesdays and so until next time, take care!

JGlover

Leave a Reply

