Time to Happen to Things…

“It had long since come to my attention that people of accomplishment rarely sat back and let things happen to them. They went out and happened to things.”

– Leonardo da Vinci

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about the future of my artwork and where I intend to take it when the time comes; the steps that I need to take in order to eventually turn my artistry into a business and livelihood. These thoughts can at times seem daunting or like an immense challenge and in many respects they are; equally though there is nothing in life that I can think of that is rewarding without being challenging in some way.

It’s tricky at present because most of the skills I intend to use in the future to gain commissions and employment I am still in the early stages of learning about, namely oil painting which as with the rest of my art, I am self teaching. My first oil painting, which is nearing completion has been quite a successful endeavour; admittedly there are several things that I would have done differently but then again I think that’s often the case for most people.

It’s apparent to me that I need to build up my portfolio and remove a few of the older works that I currently have in there that fall short of my own expectations for future artwork, they also don’t conform to the direction in which I’m taking my work as most of them were completed whilst I was in college and working to the briefs I was given.

It is absolutely necessary that I now work on creating and building a strong and captivating portfolio that purely focuses on my desire to set narratives through my artwork. For me this means full steam ahead with the creative side of things, using my time wisely to not only learn and increase my current knowledge and skillset but to also be working on pieces of work for my portfolio simultaneously.

For my blog this means that I’m now going to have to revert to posting every fortnight rather than every week, which isn’t such a bad thing as it gives me the time to put more effort into the posts that I do publish. Nothing is set in stone either, some weeks I might publish more than one post, it will vary; my point is that I will not let it be less than once a fortnight.

This also means that I won’t be doing another long project just yet like I did with my Lord of the Rings project, but I will most probably do some shorter projects in line with the artworks that I create for my portfolio.

After experimenting with different media over the past year I am also now sure of what works best for me and my work, so my portfolio will reflect that with artworks created in oil paints, watercolours, pencil, charcoal and pen and ink wash.

The quote that I chose as the theme of this post is one that I need to keep constantly in the forefront of my mind, perhaps I’ll even print it off and stick it to my fridge just to be certain. It’s easy to worry about finding the time that I need to realise my ideas but one simple fact remains true, I have the same amount of hours in a day as the greatest artists and creatives have always had and always will have. So with that in mind, it’s now the time for me to start happening to things.

JGlover

 

Leave a Reply

