The Lord of the Rings Project – Part VI

Sam Carrying Frodo-Painting-Oil Painting-Art-Fine Art-LOTR-Lord of the Rings-Tolkien

After a long and turbulent journey through my Lord of the Rings Project we have finally reached the end of the road. It started off as just an idea and some simple sketches, gradually evolving into a depiction of my favourite scene from the narrative, invented and recorded by the genius J.R.R. Tolkien, then brought to life in the cinema by Peter Jackson.

This is the first painting that I’ve tackled with oils and considering that fact, I am very pleased with the outcome, there’s still that part of my brain niggling at me that it didn’t come out totally how I had envisioned it.

If you hear a voice within you say “you cannot paint,” then by all means paint, and that voice will be silenced. – Vincent Van Gogh

That quote was bouncing around in my mind a lot over the course of this painting, and I must admit Van Gogh certainly wasn’t wrong.

Putting that aside though, I have now photographed the painting and I’m ready to add it to my portfolio.

"But I can carry you!"
“I can’t carry it for you, but I can carry you!” – 2015 – Oil on Canvas Board – 20″ x 16″

I spent a lot of time working on this piece, and a lot of time rectifying mistakes made and throughout the process I have learned an incredible amount about painting with oils; even if the canvas panel is now 6 inches thick with paint haha.

I hope that this painting has captured at least some of the essence of this beautiful scene and portrayed the atmosphere and feel of it. I went into more depth about the intricacies of the scene in Part III.

Initially I was going to get some Fine Art Prints made up of this piece but instead of that, I’ll leave it open to order, if anyone does want to purchase one just send me a message via the box on my Contact Page and the relevant arrangements can be made via e-mail.

Please feel free to leave any feedback and comments, and subscribe to my blog for future posts and projects.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

I won’t be running another big project like this one has been for a little while yet, I am going to focus more on studying the figure, learning more about oil painting and running smaller scale projects simultaneously.

Until next time, take care!

JGlover

 

Leave a Reply

