Project Concept – Ruins

For the past week in between studying portrait drawing and sketching away I have also been spending a lot of time thinking of another project to get on with; something not as large scale as my Lord of the Rings Project from last year, but detailed enough for the final result to be added into my portfolio.

Having a lot of interest in concept art, fantasy and history, as well as wanting to create art that has a narrative inclined me to choose a theme that will be a combination of all of my interests.

The concept that I have come up with for this project is Ruins. I’ve always found myself drawn towards ruins; Bronze age, classical, medieval, even contemporary desolation such as Chernobyl captivate me and inspire me in ways that I find hard to explain. I think a big part of what draws me towards ruins is the fact that they all tell a story; tales of abandonment, legends of sieges and warfare, chronicles recording the destructive power of weather and time and even epics of natural disaster.

I don’t just want to reproduce an image of an already familiar set of ruins for this project though, I want to create an imagined scene for my final piece and that is the objective. In harmony with concept art, I will be drawing on the historical to create the fantastical.

As before with my previous project, I will post the development of the project in stages; there is a lot of ground to cover throughout this project and an innumerable amount of resources to draw from.

My intentions are to

  • Gather information on historical architecture
  • Study existing ruins
  • Explore the work of others in this field such as; Concept Artists – Historical Painters – Landscape Painters – Architects – Photographers
  • Build a collection of images to use for reference and inspiration

I will use the information that I gather to create a series of sketches and studies that I will use towards the final piece, working with various media.

Part I of this project will be published within the next two weeks and I hope for as many of you to join me on this journey as possible.

Until next time, take care!

JGlover

Featured Image – Il Foro Romano – The Roman Forum

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

