Morning Coffee VI – Tolkien Reading Day

Morning Coffee-Coffee-Cup-Morning-Coffee-JGlover-FineArt

Good Morning and Welcome

This week’s Morning Coffee has fallen on a very important and special date for any fans of Tolkien and his legendarium of Middle-earth; the fact that today has caught up with me almost by surprise has caused me to rearrange my schedule in order to compensate for it.

Make sure you have got your coffee at the ready and let’s take a short stroll along the road that goes ever on.

Tolkien Reading Day has been upheld each year by the Tolkien Society, since 2003 when they initiated this event to encourage fans and readers to celebrate and promote the life and works of J.R.R. Tolkien, by reading their favourite passages and sharing them with others. 

The theme for this year’s Tolkien Reading Day is Life, Death and Immortality.

I’m also excited that this will be the first year for me to be able to partake as I have now marked the date clearly in my calendar and my mind, it’s shameful that I hadn’t already done this but such is. 

Wow, I’ve gotten this far without a mouthful of coffee, although it’s no surprise that passion can be a better drive than caffeine, it’s the fusion of the two that I find a necessity in everyday life though.

Also starting today is another event in celebration of March 25th and Tolkien’s work, instigated by a fellow blogger, James over at A Tolkienist’s Perspective (a blog filled to the brim with highly interesting content and writings) has decided to do a #MegaMiddleEarthMarathon. The post with the details of this marathon and the hashtag can be found by Clicking Here. I will also be partaking in this marathon viewing of the six movies, watching the extended editions and consuming my weekend with the greatest creations of cinematic history. 

March 25th

So, let’s talk about March 25th and why this day has importance in the history of Middle-earth.

March 25th in the year 3019 of the Third Age is the date that the One Ring was finally cast into Mount Doom and destroyed, prompting the downfall of the Dark Lord Sauron and the tower of Barad-dûr in the process. The final destruction of The Lord of the Rings and the beginning of a new era; one where the darkness finally recedes after so many years of its influence and domination.

Now I’m going to take this moment to shamelessly promote my own work –

Sam Carrying Frodo-Painting-Oil Painting-Art-Fine Art-LOTR-Lord of the Rings-Tolkien
“I can’t carry it for you, but I can carry you!” – Oil on Canvas – 20″ x 16″

This piece of work is the fruit of my labours from my Lord of the Rings Project and my first oil painting, it seemed appropriate to add this to this post, if you’re interested in seeing the work that led towards this painting you can find my project posts by clicking the link.

Tolkien Reading Day

So what are your plans for today’s event, will you be reading any of Tolkien’s books and if so what will you be reading from? Will you be following the theme of Life, Death and Immortality or just reading generally? Lastly, do you intend to partake in the #MegaMiddleEarthMarathon and how long do you think it will take you to watch all six of the movies?

I’m most likely going to post again a bit later with some Tolkien excerpts in line with the theme for this year’s reading, please feel free to comment and thank you for joining me for this week’s Coffee Morning. 

As always stay caffeinated and until next time, take care!

JGlover

2 Comments

  1. I look forward to this holiday every year! I already had plans to read about the Fall of Sauron in The Return of the King at least, and now I’ll definitely check out #MegaMiddleEarthMarathon. (Not sure that I’ll be able to get all the movies in since it’s Easter weekend, but it’s a great excuse to start watching all of them again. 🙂 ) Happy Tolkien Reading Day!

    Like

    1. It’s definitely a day that needs marking out in the calendar every year, next year I’ll be more prepared for it and I will get a post written with more depth and substance. Any road, it’s great to take a day to reflect on Tolkien’s writing and the theme for this year is a good one to get along with.

      As for the #MegaMiddleEarthMovieMarathon I have slacked somewhat today, the day of easy reading and movie marathon viewing kind of slipped away; I’m going to start An Unexpected Journey soon and the real marathon will be tomorrow for me.

      Thanks for reading the post and for your comment, and Happy Tolkien Reading Day to you too!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

