Ruins Project – Part IV

Ruins-painting-landscape-art-fantasy-concept art-history-contemporary art-oil painting-JGlover-J Glover-Josh Glover-Fine Art

Welcome

Here we are for Part IV of my Ruins Project, there’s still some way to go with the project overall but I though that it was time to offer another glimpse at this work in progress, which has come on in leaps and bounds since the last post and will soon be ready for the detailed work.

Sticking to my decision of this piece being a nocturne, I have continued with the same colour palette that I wrote about in Part III, but with the addition of using more Crimson than I had previously purposed to, giving the overall palette more of a purple hue; which I have found looks a lot more realistic and is definitely more pleasing to the eyes.

Without further ado, lets look at the painting itself.

Painting in progress

Ruins-landscape-painting-oil painting-fantasy-art-artwork-fine art-concept art-history

Ruins-painting-landscape-art-fine art-fantasy-concept art-history-contemporary art-oil painting

Ruins-painting-landscape-art-fine art-fantasy-concept art-history-contemporary art-oil painting-J Glover-JGlover-Josh Glover

These three photographs show the build up as I have worked from the background, slowly bringing the paint forward into the mid ground, the colours intensifying the closer they become to the foreground. Also working from the right side of the canvas to the left, because I’m left handed and it’s a nightmare to work the other way; I can’t even write a sentence without smudging the ink let alone paint from left to right as is normal convention.

Ruins-painting-landscape-art-fantasy-concept art-history-contemporary art-oil painting-JGlover-J Glover-Josh Glover-Fine Art

After giving the ground in the foreground a wash of colour, I left it to dry a while before I move onto the ruins and once they have a base layer on, I can move onto the detail work on the entire piece; thus fine tuning and finishing it up. So we’re almost there in theory, but in practice, there is still a lot of work to be done.

In terms of the composition, I think that this landscape works well but this is the first time I’ve really put thought into the composition side of a painting, so a lot of it is trial and error and any feedback in this area would be much appreciated.

So that’s the bulk of the progress work right there, I have also taken a few detail shots as well which I will add now.

Detail Shots

I hope that you’ve enjoyed seeing the progressive stages of the project so far and that you continue to join me up to the completion of this piece and for future projects.

Any feedback is much welcomed and appreciated and by all means subscribe to my blog to stay in touch with future posts from myself.

Until next time, take care!

JGlover

Leave a Reply

