Morning Coffee VIII – Assassin’s Creed Movie

Morning Coffee-Coffee-Cup-Morning-Coffee-JGlover-FineArt

Good Morning!

I hope you found your way here without too much trouble and that you have a fresh cup of coffee at hand to enjoy throughout this week’s Morning Coffee.

The subject of this post is Assassin’s Creed but not the game, the movie which has been promised for some time now and is finally well under way; due to be released December 21st we have after a long and anxious wait been rewarded with a trailer.

I have been a keen follower of the Assassin’s Creed storyline via the videogames over the years since the very beginning and have only ceased to continue since the newer next gen releases; with that said, it is pretty hard to formulate just how excited I am about this movie.

I might be severely disagreed with for this next statement, but I am actually more excited for this release than I was for Star Wars Episode VII – The Force Awakens, and that was a very well received movie but it just didn’t hold the same sense of anticipation as Assassin’s Creed does. I’ve also watched the trailer several times and December is beginning to feel like an incredibly long way off.

I won’t go into the details of the storyline or the concept in this post as the trailer pretty much sums it up, but I will say how surprised I am that Michael Fassbender seems to fit the role that when first announced, I wasn’t sure he would. I don’t know why exactly, I just had a feeling that he wasn’t the man for the job but the trailer alone seems to discredit any doubts I initially had about his casting as the protagonist.

Assassin's Creed-Assassins-Creed-Movie-Film-Teaser-Poster-Official-Assassin's-Creed-Movie-Michael-Fassbender-Ubisoft
Assassin’s Creed Movie Teaser Poster

Also whilst on the subject on Assassin’s Creed, I did write a post a short while ago looking at the concept art work for the video games, you can find that post by Clicking Here.

I’m also interested in turning these Morning Coffee posts into a bit of a discussion area as well, so please do feel free to comment with your thoughts and opinions; after all it is far easier to have a typed conversation in the morning than a vocal one, unless that’s just me.

So what are you thoughts on the trailer? Will the movie be your introduction to Assassin’s Creed? If you could relive the memories of your ancestors, would you choose a particular time period?  What blend of coffee did you have this morning?

Thanks for joining me for this post, I hope you have enjoyed it and that you will join me again for another Morning Coffee in two weeks!

JGlover

9 Comments

  1. My husband and I were just discussing last night how great this trailer looks. Oftentimes, movies based on video games don’t do justice to the source material, but this one seems really promising. I also like that it’s not based on one of the games specifically, so there’s no telling where the story will go. 🙂

    Like

    1. You’re right there, there are a fair few video game turned movies that have been a flop and it’s a shame when it does happen, I’m hopeful for this one though. In fact, of all the movies based on video games that I can think of, they were all pretty shameful.

      I also couldn’t agree more, giving this a completely new storyline makes it a whole lot more intriguing and keeps the suspense.

      Thanks for your comment!

      Like

    1. Yes the storyline has always been very on point and it’s quite a feasible concept despite being a fairly far out one, the main trouble I think they might have is condensing such rich content into a single movie.

      Like

      1. I must admit I did have that hope as well as he is my favourite character but it will be interesting to see a new take on it, something fresh and untouched, after all they have so much history available to them it would seem a shame not to explore it further.

        Like

  2. WOW…I had never heard of this movie title until today. I watched the trailer and became immediately interested. I like movies with lots of imagery, a fast (loud) pace, and lots of movement. I could see watching this as long as not too much blood and gore. I enjoyed reading your post eating Irish Oatmeal, no coffee needed. When I’m awake, I’m awake. I’m so happy with the present, I don’t think going back to visit my ancestors would do me, but it’s a thought I hadn’t entertained, so I’m chuffed to give it a little think just because it keeps my brain cells firing. Nice share!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It certainly looks promising and I agree with you on the violence, films with such a strong concept and story don’t need to go overkill on the gore to try and sell.

      Irish oatmeal is as good as a coffee for a morning read, and more filling haha.

      As for the present I’m in agreement, but as a history nerd it would appeal to me to relive my ancestors footsteps to see the world how it was in different eras, it would also give a great impact to my artwork.

      Thanks for your comment and for reading the post!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

