Legend of Zelda Fan Art

Link-Zelda-Legend of Zelda-Fan-Art-Artist-Artwork-Illustration-Concept-Fantasy-Painting-Digital-Wind-Waker

I recently felt inspired to do some Legend of Zelda artwork and have spent some time over the past couple of weeks doing little sketches and drawings of Link; the main protagonist of the series.

It has been a very enjoyable process and I decided that I’ll most likely work up a more detailed drawing and get a painting done to add to my portfolio, I had actually forgotten how much of a Legend of Zelda fan I was as a youngster and it feels exciting to be working on a piece of art inspired by one of my favourite video games of all time.

I’ll be publishing a post with my work so far real soon but for now I thought I’d share some of the work of other artists that I’ve come across during my research; these artworks are nothing short of awe-inspiring and each one holds a very strong narrative.

IliasPatis - Hero of Time
IliasPatis – Hero of Time

This piece caught my attention and held my interest immediately, the angle of the camera and the scale of the forest area surrounding Link sets the drama and narrative of the scene incredibly well; from the first glance I’m steady looking for clues as to what this current quest involves .

This work has a composition that is highly agreeable to storytelling and the lighting has been executed very well in the same vein, all in all an artwork that could easily qualify as official concept art for the Legend of Zelda series.

Link-Zelda-Legend of Zelda-Fan-Art-Artist-Artwork-Illustration-Concept-Fantasy-Painting-Digital
Minion Slayer – Deku Tree

This stunning and loosely sketched work instantly takes me back to my childhood and the Nintendo 64 that I spent so many hours attached to; that familiar scene in Ocarina of Time when Link meets the great Deku Tree for the first time and the true narrative begins to unfold.

Going back to the sketchy feel to this piece, it really adds to the overall atmosphere of the scene and gives the scene depth and perspective that keep the eye focused on the story.

Link-Zelda-Legend of Zelda-Fan-Art-Artist-Artwork-Illustration-Concept-Fantasy-Painting-Digital-Wind-Waker
Dan Warren – Wind Waker

When I see this piece of art here I see the modern day equivalent of what Greek and Roman mythology and the Bible was to the old masters of the Renaissance. It strongly reminds me of an Italian Renaissance painting and puts me in mind mostly of the style of Sandro Botticelli, I’m not sure on the process and reasoning behind this artwork but I would love to know.

The entire piece has been created with extreme skill and everything about it works for me; if this piece was hanging up in a gallery I would happily spend a lot of time examining it and taking in all that it has to offer.

Link-Zelda-Legend of Zelda-Fan-Art-Artist-Artwork-Illustration-Concept-Fantasy-Painting-Digital-comic-conan-art
Jeremiah Lambert Art – Link and Zelda

This clever homage to Frazetta’s Conan is another that caught my eye straight away, drawn to it by the recognition and familiarity with the composition. Upon further examination I enjoyed the art as a piece in its own right and separate from the god-like touch of Frank Frazetta; who inked his artworks up on Mount Olympus.

I love the comic book style that has been employed for this piece and I find that it works really well, in fact if this comic was sitting on the shelf of a local store I would easily pick it over the likes of Marvel and DC.

Link-Zelda-Legend of Zelda-Fan-Art-Artist-Artwork-Illustration-Concept-Fantasy-Painting-Digital
Super Fergus – The Triforce

The lighting and the contrast between dark and light it what drew me to this piece initially, and whilst not my favourite of the selection that I’ve included in this post, it is very fitting to the storyline and this artwork holds a nice narrative if you’re familiar with it.

Again, this is another artwork that could easily fall under the official concept art category and I wouldn’t question it.

Link-Zelda-Legend of Zelda-Fan-Art-Artist-Artwork-Illustration-Concept-Fantasy-Painting-Digital
Pertheseus – Swamp Temple

I love the narrative that this piece suggests, Link can be seen in a small boat, rowing his way towards a swamp temple, moments away from yet another epic quest within the depths of an ancient temple.

The composition and colour palette add a strong sense of story to the piece and invite the viewer to be a part of the scene, watching as it unfolds ahead and sparking the curiosity of wondering what mystery relic or weapon is hidden away inside the ancient temple.

Link-Zelda-Legend of Zelda-Fan-Art-Artist-Artwork-Illustration-Concept-Fantasy-Painting-Digital
Genzoman – Navi Hey Listen

As a player of the games in the past, I can understand the frustration shown by Link in this artwork, however crushing his fairy friend Navi in his hand may not have been the wisest way to handle it.

The style of this work also puts me in mind of Dragon Ball Z and that draws me to it even more; it is very well made and a great poster for any haters of fairies.

Link-Zelda-Legend of Zelda-Fan-Art-Artist-Artwork-Illustration-Concept-Fantasy-Painting-Digital
AG+ Zelda 25th Birthday Poster

The last artwork for this post is this incredible poster which is an absolutely colossal undertaking and has been created and finished to perfection. The poster contains most of the main characters from the Legend of Zelda series and was made to celebrate the 25th birthday of the franchise.

Although sketchy in parts the overall detail and finish on this piece is more than professional and is an artwork that should be printed and hung on the wall of every fan of this epic video game series.


Well that’s about it for this post, it wasn’t my intention to give an in depth analysis and critique of these beautiful artworks, rather just to share some of the greatest Legend of Zelda fan art that I’ve found in my research.

I hope that you have found this post of interest, and even if you’re not familiar with the series that you have enjoyed the artworks.

JGlover

2 Comments

  1. These are amazing! As a fellow Zelda fan, I love seeing what little details artists add. (I can certainly understand the sentiments with Navi. She truly could be annoying! 🙂 )

    Speaking of Zelda, the Symphony of the Goddesses tour is happening right now. I’ve seen it every time it’s passed through my part of the US (and, I’ll confess, we planned a vacation around it the one time it didn’t), and have loved it. (So have my parents, who’ve never played a Zelda game in their lives. They just came because the music was beautiful.) I don’t know where exactly you are, but here’s the schedule in case you’re interested: http://zelda-symphony.com/pages/schedule

    Can’t wait to see what this inspires you to create next!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the link (pardon the pun) for the tour dates, I’m just outside of London and unfortunately it is only visiting a couple of cities in the North of the UK, I’ll keep an eye out for next year though it looks like it will be right up my street.

      I’m excited to be working on a little Legend of Zelda project there are so many ideas circulating now just got to nail a painting to do it justice.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

