The Legend of Zelda – Part II – Idea Developement

Link-Legend-of-Zelda-Ocarina-of-Time-art-drawing-sketch-painting-fantasy-fine-art-illustration-concept-art-work-sword-kokiri

Welcome Back!

Since the last post for this project I have spent some time developing ideas for a final painting; there has been a lot to think about and weigh up during this stage of the project and a lot of sketching.

Decisions have had to be made on the pose of the figure, composition, scenery/environment, medium, colours, surface and probably a bunch of other stuff that I’ve forgotten at this point.

Anyway without further ado, let’s jump straight into the process of this stage and take a look at where it is heading.

Master Study

The first thing that I decided to do was research on some of the concept art for Ocarina of Time that is available online, I found a piece that I really liked the feel of and done a very quick study sketch of it; this enabled me to learn more about the character and the art style employed by the creators of the Legend of Zelda.

Link-Legend-of-Zelda-Ocarina-of-Time-art-drawing-sketch-painting-fantasy-fine-art-illustration-concept-art-work-sword-kokiri
Young Link Taking the Master Sword

Thumbnails

The second phase was to get some thumbnail sketches created and play about with compositions and various other elements, much of what I created in this phase was scribbles and marks. I also looked at some various other pieces of fan art and produced some thumbnails of those pieces in order to look at the compositions of others.

This is the first time I’ve used thumbnails for a piece of work and it is definitely a helpful process and one that I intend to use for every piece of art I create from here on.

Concept Sketches

In this stage it was time to choose a final pose for my main figure, and then to establish the scene surrounding him; this stage involved a lot of research and the gathering of a ton of reference images to work with.

Initially I wanted to create Link in a brand new pose but my figure drawing is still not as good as I’d like it to be and I couldn’t manage to make it work, so after a lot of trial and error I decided to use a reference image of Link created by the concept art team for the Ocarina of Time.

Link-Legend-of-Zelda-Ocarina-of-Time-art-drawing-sketch-painting-fantasy-fine-art-illustration-concept-art-work-sword-kokiri-figure-drawing-study
Young Link – Final Figure Sketch

Once I had Link sketched up and inked, I traced him off and then I had a moment of self proclaimed genius and cut around the figure roughly for the next stage, sketching up the scenery and background.

All in all I created four of the environment concept sketches and the final piece will contain elements from each of them as there are certain thing in each one that I like, and none of them that alone entirely pull of what I want.

Final Sketch – Coming Soon!

I have made a start on the final sketch and as soon as it is done I will publish it, all I can confirm at this point is that the orientation of the final will be portrait.

Once the final sketch is complete I can move onto the painting and wrap this project up nicely, my chosen medium for this project is watercolour and so it won’t take me anywhere near as long as it would if I was using oils.

I hope you have enjoyed this post and gained an insight of the process that I’ve chosen to employ for this particular artwork. Please feel free to leave me any feedback and subscribe to my blog in order to stay updated with this and all future projects.

Until next time, take care!

JGlover

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

