Morning Coffee & Sketch – Part I

fantasy art history warrior sketch drawing illustration landscape with figure war

Welcome to Morning Coffee & Sketch!!!

This is a new idea I’ve decided to try out in order to keep up a discipline in myself for sketching more regularly, most of the sketches I create for this series will be the foundation sketches for larger artworks that will form a part of my Leaves of Hellebore visual fantasy novel.

True to the title, these sketches will indeed be sketchy and rough drafts, sometimes even in the form of thumbnails; I have a penchant for overworking sketches and striving for detail where it isn’t needed, so this will encourage me to loosen up more; and erasers are banned from these works in order to help me fulfill that.

Anyway, let’s cut to the chase, here is the first Morning Coffee Sketch which has been created in the company of a lovely blend of hazelnut coffee –

fantasy art history warrior sketch drawing illustration landscape with figure war
The Warrior Returns

This concept is of a warrior who has been on the road for a long time and has finally returned to his homeland, battle weary and perhaps bearingΒ ill tidings; he blows on his horn to inform the people of his long awaited return; or perhaps to warn them sooner of an impending danger…

Fell free to leave any comments and let me know what you think of this idea and series and if you have any requests or concepts you would like to see sketched!

Also if you want to see more of my working process and see works in progress then give me a follow on Instagram – @JGloverArt

I hope you have a good morning!

JGlover

8 Comments

    1. Thanks Ash, it’s a great new step and will keep my drawing discipline well tuned. I found myself slack an awful lot over the holiday period and nearly got in a rut, but back at it now and got to keep going πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

