Work in Progress – Gurdan Oil Painting

Oil painting underpainting brunaille fantasy art illustration j glover art

Over the past couple of weeks I’ve been working on an oil painting which will be the first part of the main storyline for my Leaves of Hellebore visual novel. So far I’ve been completing and publishing drawings in order to build up the lore and backstory of the world; which Β will continue to do between the paintings and drawings for the main narrative.

I’m still in the early stages of the painting in a sense, the Brunaille underpainting is now complete and the next step will be the colour layers and then finally the detail work. So far I’m really pleased with how it’s coming along so I though I’d publish a progress post on the piece and hence, here we are.

So without further ado, here is the painting in its current stage –

Oil painting underpainting brunaille fantasy art illustration j glover art
Gurdan Oil Painting WIP

I’m not going to go into the narrative behind the scene in this post, I’ll save that for the finished product; I can however let it be known that this character’s name is Gurdan, he’s a Dwarf and one of the key protagonists of the main story that I’m creating for Leaves of Hellebore.

As is evident in the painting, I have kept my marks very loose and mostly worked by making impressions and not focusing on detail too much; which admittedly is a hard thing for me to do but it’s a learning process.

Monday I’ll be starting on the first colour layer and I’ll hopefully get the piece wrapped up real soon and get it posted on here, I can’t wait to tell this story and only wish that I could show it as quickly as I think it.

Any road, that’s all for now and I’ll be back Monday morning with a new Morning Coffee & Sketch, until then, farewell!

JGlover

18 Comments

    1. Thanks Ash it’s a really enjoyable painting and only my third go with oil paint so I’m learning a lot with every brush stroke and colour mix; it helps that Gurdan was modelled by a friend of mine I’ve known since childhood so I’m fairly familiar with the way he looks, although I had to change his proportions a bit to make him more dwarf like haha.

      I hope you’re well and keeping inspired and productive! πŸ˜€πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Not yet, but I’m hoping to spend a little time this week. Until now, I’ve done each painting in one spirt, so it has to wait until I have an uninterrupted hour or so. Do you tend to do it in one spirt or break it up between a few different sittings?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I guess there are pros and cons in either approach but I generally paint a piece in several sittings, stepping away and coming back with fresh eyes is one of the main reasons; coupled with how long it takes me to paint a piece. Also using oils I have to let each layer dry for a few days before painting over it or it muddies the colour. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

