Morning Coffee & Sketch – Part IV

horse riding girl fantasy art illustration lantern sketch drawing j glover art atmospheric narrative

Good Morning!

Welcome to Part IV of my Morning Coffee & Sketch series; I’ve prepared two quick figure sketches this morning, very loose and rough but very inspiring to develop further and transform them into strong narrative elements.

Today’s accompanying coffee was just a simple flat white and it done the job of bringing me to life this morning, it’s terribly dark and too cold for my liking in the morning here in the northern hemisphere at this time of year.

Without further ado, we’ll jump straight to the sketches –

horse riding girl fantasy art illustration lantern sketch drawing j glover art atmospheric narrative
Horseback Girl with Lantern Sketch
kneeling warrior viking norse axe battle art fantasy history illustration drawing j glover art
Kneeling Warrior Sketch

The first sketch is the first time I’ve worked a horse (or at least part of one) into a drawing other than a vague attempt I had when working on my Legend of Zelda project, they are intimidating to draw but something I definitely need to practice a lot more. After all, I’m a predominantly fantasy artist, depicting horses is integral to the trade.

Anyway, that’s all for this morning, feel free to leave a comment and you can subscribe to my blog via email by scrolling down until you see the box.

You can also follow me on Instagram to see my works in progress and behind the scenes photographs when I’m working @JGloverArt 

Until next time, farewell!

JGlover

2 Comments

  1. Amazing sketches Josh! But I couldn’t decipher she was on a horse…until I read the caption..but as you’ve said, you’re working on it; I am sure the final piece would be exquisite!!!! 🙂 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

