Morning Coffee & Sketch – Part XVI

castle fort fortress ruins architecture classical landscape art drawing sketch fantasy illustration history battlements medieval

Good Morning!

Welcome to my Morning Coffee & Sketch series, as with the last two posts of this series I have used architectural ruins as my subject again; I love ruins and I think they tell a wonderful story of their own without the need for prompting or posing. It has also been a great learning curve playing loosely with perspective and sketching stonework.

Before I move onto the sketch for this morning though, I recently started working on a previous Morning Sketch concept and turning it into a finished artwork, you can see the process of that here – The Last Flight of the War Drakes.

Now for this morning’s sketch!

castle fort fortress ruins architecture classical landscape art drawing sketch fantasy illustration history battlements medieval
Castle Fortress Ruins

I really enjoyed sketching these ruins and detailing each stone individually paying attention also to the mortar holding it all together; the perspective is applied only roughly and by eye but I was more attentive than usual in a loose sketch of this nature.

Sometimes when I sketch it can feel like just a process that ends with a simple drawing, but other times I feel like I’ve learned an incredible amount from the process of simple loose mark making and this was one of those.

The more I focus on sketching existing ruins and castles the more confident I will become in order to create architectural features of my own design within my artworks.

Anyway that’s about all for this morning, I hope you have a great weekend and feel free to subscribe to my blog in order to stay updated!

Until next time, farewell!!

JGlover

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

