Morning Coffee & Sketch – Part XVII

Frodo Baggins Sheob's lair mordor sketch lord of the rings lotr art illustration fantasy drawing josh glover artist

Good Morning!

Welcome to my Morning Coffee & Sketch series, for today’s sketch I took a bit of a different path; instead of sketching an idea for my Leaves of Hellebore project I decided to do a little fan art sketch; sometimes I find it helpful to take a step back from a project and go back to my roots to find some inspiration.

So in this vain I decided to do a quick sketch of a scene from the Lord of the Rings movies that has stuck with me since I first saw it, Frodo in Shelob’s Lair with the Phial of Galadriel.

Frodo Baggins Sheob's lair mordor sketch lord of the rings lotr art illustration fantasy drawing josh glover artist
The Phial of Galadriel

In spite of using a film still or screencap as reference for this sketch, capturing a likeness of Elijah Wood wasn’t a priority; this sketch was more about the scene itself, the composition and lighting, the dramatic atmosphere and the ever present hope that Tolkien masterminded into every aspect of his storytelling.

I intend to work on more sketches of this nature in between project ideas as I find they keep me refreshed and motivated; the last thing I wish to do artistically speaking is stagnate.

I also intend to do a detailed drawing of a scene from the Lord of the Rings I’m just not sure what scene as yet but once I choose one I’ll get started on it immediately.

Any road, that’s all for this morning and I’ll be back tomorrow morning with another sketch, until then; farewell!

JGlover

7 Comments

      1. I must admit I’m long overdue a Lord of the Rings marathon; I really do need to make a start on it. I used to always have it on whilst painting but then I discovered podcasts lol.

        I only just watched Fantastic Beasts a couple of weeks ago and wow, what a well made movie that is! 🙂 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

