Morning Coffee & Sketch – Part XXIII

Viking Long Ships Long Boats at sea sketch drawing fantasy history art illustration

Good Morning!

This morning’s Coffee & Sketch is a continuation of the last one; I have been planning out a new painting of a Viking invasion fleet so all of my sketching work has been aimed towards that goal; drawing and simplifying longships as well as trying to study the ocean and the way waves work in terms of light and shadow.

Without further ado, here is the morning’s sketches –

Viking Long Ships Long Boats at sea sketch drawing fantasy history art illustration

The next stage is to now work on a bigger thumbnail and nail the composition that I want and to move away from the reference material that involves other artworks so as to put a piece of work out that is totally unique to my own style; now that I have a better understanding of the parameters of the longships this is a much easier task.

I will also sketch some studies of the ocean which is turning out to be a lot like drawing hair; something that looks intensely awkward to render into a drawing but can be simplified and done without too much of a struggle, it is still an intimidating subject matter nonetheless.

That’s all for this morning but there are a couple of things that I wanted to add to this post –

Firstly, I am currently hosting a contest that will give you a chance to win some of my artwork, you can find the details for that by Clicking Here!

I’ll also soon be giving another chance to win some artwork that will be solely for Instagram, so be sure to follow me on there to be in with the chance – @JGloverArt

Until next time, farewell!

JGlover

3 Comments

    1. Thanks Ash and I’m looking forward to it too, the process of figuring out how to make it work and studying and research is a Viking voyage in itself; now I’ve just got to pillage the internet and the library haha 🙂 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

