Morning Coffee & Sketch – Part XXIV

gollum smeagol forbidden pool lotr lord of the rings art fan art fantasy sketch drawing illustration

Good Morning!

Here I am at last with the twenty fourth installment of my Morning Coffee & Sketch series; my schedule has slightly changed over the past fortnight and that’s why this series has been a bit more sporadic but on the bright side, there are a few more finished artworks coming as soon as they are dry enough to scan!

Every now and then I like to step away from my Leaves of Hellebore project and work on other things that inspire me, two of these are Tolkien’s legendarium and Vikings. I have a couple of Vikings paintings coiming, one is in the process of being painted which you can follow the progress of by following me on Instagram – @JGloverArt and the other as seen from the last two Morning Sketches in still in the planning and development stage.

The next detailed drawing I’m working on is a piece inspired by the Lord of the Rings and so is this sketch for this morning, so without further ado, here’s the sketch –

gollum smeagol forbidden pool lotr lord of the rings art fan art fantasy sketch drawing illustration
“To enter the Forbidden Pool bears the penalty of death.”

In my current reading of The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers I have just finished the ‘Window on the West’ chapter and that is what sparked the inspiration to do a sketch of a scene from within that chapter and I settled on a different scene to do a detailed drawing of but this one was amongst my choices and thus made it as a sketch.

I’ll be back real soon with some more artwork and don’t forget to subscribe to my blog to stay updated the subscription box can be found further down the page.

Thanks for joining me and until next time, farewell!

JGlover

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

