The Vikings Are Coming!

Viking longship gokstad model miniature emhar art josh glover

“This year came dreadful fore-warnings over the land, terrifying the people most woefully: these were immense sheets of light rushing through the air, and whirlwinds, and fiery dragons flying across the firmament.”

 – Entry for the year 793 in the Anglo Saxon chronicle.

I have also seen Viking sails on the horizon of late, but unlike the poor monks of Lindisfarne I have not been filled with dread and despair; I have been filled with inspiration and the start of a new project.

I’ve been planning a Viking longship painting for a while now and after multiple unsuccessful raids on the internet for decent reference material without it being someone else’s artwork I decided to get more proactive in my pillaging techniques.

I turned to the world of miniature modelling as a solution to my problem and I have ordered myself a Viking longship model, a recreation of the Gokstad ship and some little tiny oarsmen to go with it.

It’s an exciting new project that will go on to provide me reference forever more, and it’s always better to work and study from life rather than using photographs so a three dimensional longship that I can draw from any angle I choose is going to be a huge advantage.

I’ll document the stages of this build as I work through it over the next however long it takes me; the build itself should be a breeze and the painting won’t be overly challenging; it’s the rigging that I’m not looking forward to in this journey.

I’ll publish the posts on here after each major stage has been completed but for more frequent updates and pictures you can follow me on Instagram – @JGloverArt

I look forward to beginning this and I hope you’ll all join me for the next raid!

JGlover

Leave a Reply

