The Wandering Years of Ragnar Lothbrok

Ragnar lodbrok lothbrok viking vikings art painting fan art oil painting illustration history fantasy horse landscape josh glover

New Oil Painting!

I’ve been waiting for a while now for this piece to dry enough to get it scanned and published and now at last the time has come!

As a huge fan of the Vikings TV show and all things Norse I knew that I had to begin getting some Norse inspired artwork put together and I have now completed the first piece for the collection of Norse Artwork.

Norse themed artwork will be the sideline to my main IP ‘The Leaves of Hellebore’ so you can expect plenty more of these Viking pieces both historical and mythological as time goes on.

Anyway let’s get straight to the painting –

Ragnar lodbrok lothbrok viking vikings art painting fan art oil painting illustration history fantasy horse landscape josh glover
The Wandering Years of Ragnar Lothbrok – Oil on Canvas – 8″ x 11.5″

“Odin gave his eye to acquire knowledge,

I would give far more.”

– Ragnar Lothbrok

This was a fairly challenging piece from start to finish and the first oil painting I have tackled with such a wide variety of colour; mixing the greens was a huge learning curve for me and I went through a lot of paint in the process.

I kept getting the piece to a point and then reworking areas before finally settling on it and as Leonardo da Vinci puts it “abandoning the art”.

To see the progress of this piece from start to finish and to see all of my works in progress as well as other behind the scenes stuff follow me on Instagram – @JGloverArt

Also remember to subscribe to my blog in order to stay updated when I post, the subscription box can be found further down the page!

Until next time, farewell!

JGlover

5 Comments

      1. No worries! I understand late replies. I feel like I’m running late with everything lately. : ) Hopefully, I’ll finally be able to squeeze something in soon. It’s the big downside to a busy schedule, but hopefully things will start lightening up soon.

        Like

Leave a Reply

