Back Into My Chamber of Reflection

Today I finally managed to get back into my study for the first time properly in about three weeks due to one thing after another and circumstances beyond my control; anyway today was back to work and therefore it was set to be a good day.

I made myself a large coffee, sharpened up my sanguine pencil and started making marks on paper; a relief indeed after three weeks of frustration and eagerness to get stuff done. I didn’t create anything great, I just sketched a few figures and done some anatomical stuff; nothing went the way I wanted it to today but it still felt good to get back to it. In fact, it’s amazing how much one’s drawing can suffer after a while without doing it.

Moving on, I’m going to start a small project the content of which I’m not sure yet; this time I’m going to go for a drawing rather than a painting and whether it will be in graphite or ink yet I don’t know, that will depend on the subject matter and how I wish to portray it.

So for now, I’m going to think about what story I want to depict and then I’ll get some research done and get straight to it, by next week I will know what I’m doing and that will be the subject of next week’s post.

Well I look forward to posting again next week with a more informative post and not the ramblings of an artist who broke two pencils in one day…





Jack Whyte – A Dream of Eagles (Camulod Chronicles)

Jack Whyte - A Dream of Eagles
Jack Whyte – A Dream of Eagles

This 9 book series written by Jack Whyte, a Scottish-Canadian author was brought to my attention when I stumbled across the first two books of the series in ‘The Works’ and bought them. In the UK the series is titled “The Legends of Camelot” and having a keen interest in the Arthurian legend, I decided to give them a shot. The UK published versions of this series have also have different titles to the originals, to save confusion I’m going to list the books by their original titles as decided by the author himself.

A Dream of Eagles (Camulod Chronicles)

  • The Skystone
  • The Singing Sword
  • The Eagles’ Brood
  • The Saxon Shore
  • The Fort at River’s Bend
  • Metamorphosis
  • Uther
  • The Lance Thrower
  • The Eagle

I tore through the first two books within a week and I was straight online ordering the rest of the series, totally hooked and hungry for more.

In my opinion, and I have read and watched a vast amount of re-tellings of the Arthurian legend, this is the most realistic, believable and gripping version I have ever come across. Jack Whyte tells the story and places it in a believable time setting and structure, Camelot being formed just as the Roman legions are leaving Britain, starting off as a few villas and some farmland, built up by two Roman-British Legionaries and visionaries, Caius Brittanicus and Publius Varrus.

I would definitely recommend this series to anyone that is interested in historical fiction, Romans, Arthurian legend, Merlin and Camelot, it truly places everything perfectly and is a really enjoyable read. As I said before there are 9 books in the series and they’re not short books either, but they’re easy to make short work of with their page turning effect.

If you have already read this series of books or want some more information on them, feel free to get in touch via the comment section or email, I’m happy for a discussion.